Stock Market Holidays 2022: Here’s When Markets Are Closed This Year

Take a look at this list of stock market holidays in 2022, 2023, and 2024 to find out whether the market will be open on days like Columbus Day, Black Friday, Christmas Eve, and more.

Regular hours for the New York Stock Exchange and the Nasdaq go from 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. ET from Monday to Friday. The markets are closed over the weekends.

Stock Market Holidays

HOLIDAY
2023
2024
New Years Day
Monday, January 2 (New Year’s holiday observed)
Monday, January 1
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday, January 17
Monday, January 16
Monday, January 15
Washington’s Birthday
Monday, February 21
Monday, February 20
Monday, February 19
Good Friday
Friday, April 15
Friday, April 7
Friday, March 29
Memorial Day
Monday, May 30
Monday, May 29
Monday, May 27
Independence Day
Monday, July 4
Tuesday, July 4*
Thursday, July 4*
Labor Day
Monday, September 5
Monday, September 4
Monday, September 2
Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, November 24**
Thursday, November 23**
Thursday, November 28**
Christmas
Monday, December 26 (Christmas holiday observed)
Monday, December 25
Wednesday, December 25***

*Each market will close early at 1:00 p.m. (1:15 p.m. for eligible options) on Monday, July 3, 2023, and Wednesday, July 3, 2024.  All times are Eastern Time.

**Each market will close early at 1:00 p.m. (1:15 p.m. for eligible options) on Friday, November 25, 2022, Friday, November 24, 2023, and Friday, November 29, 2024 (the day after Thanksgiving). All times are Eastern Time.

***Each market will close early at 1:00 p.m. (1:15 p.m. for eligible options) on Tuesday, December 24, 2024. All times are Eastern Time.

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes, the stock market holds regular hours on April 14, 2022. Bond markets close early, at 2 p.m.

Yes the stock market is open on the Friday before Memorial Day. But the bond markets close early, at 2 p.m.

Yes the stock market is open on Columbus Day, Monday, October 10, 2022.

Yes the stock market is open regular hours on Veterans Day but bond market is closed.

The stock markets close early, at 1 p.m., on Black Friday. The bond markets close early, at 2 p.m.